water lillies

My trip to The Netherlands #1 – Nature

I am spending my summer holidays in The Netherlands, and I am enjoying every moment of it. Right now, I am staying in Eindhoven, but I will also visit some of the other regions.

This country has a lot of peculiarities that really catch my attention. I wanted to share some of them with you, so I decided to talk about each one individually. All of the following pictures were captured by me. 🙂

Nature

I love Nature. And I love animals. In this country, I had the opportunity to see a lot of diversity and living species that I never heard about or that I have seen only in movies, because they are not usual to see in Portugal, the country from where I am from.

brown horses

A cute pony following two adult horses.

The group of horses (they were much more than 3) I saw was really near the road, so everyone who was, for instance riding a bicycle (the amount of people on bicycles is astonishing) or waiting for the bus could enjoy watching the little pony play or the horses grazing.

I was so amazed to see the harmony between the natural environment and such an advanced and developed civillization. The Netherlands have hundreds of natural reserves, as well as 20 national parks, so we can tell they are very conscious about preserving nature!

gooses

Gooses.

gooses aproaching

They were not afraid of people, so they all aproached me. Unfortunatelly, I didn’t have some bread to feed them…

White gooses.

White gooses.

swans

Can you say “no” to these adorable swan cubs?

Yesterday, I went for a bike ride through a path in a forest. There was an ecological farm, where kids usually go to learn about the agricultural manners. It was getting late, so most animals were already in their shelters, preparing to sleep. Nevertheless, I had a lot of fun watching the pigs in a smelly pigsty. Smelling that stinky place reminded me of what the farmers have to deal with in their everyday lives.

pig

A female pig. I love its skin pattern.

pig

The pig was digging… OINC!

water lillies

Look at these beautiful water lillies.

turtle in watter lillies

Can you spot the turtle?

 

“I love to think of nature as an unlimited broadcasting station, through which God speaks to us every hour, if we will only tune in.”

~George Washington Carver

4 thoughts on “My trip to The Netherlands #1 – Nature

What is in your mind?

